As one of the top video and photo sharing apps available, Snapchat’s recent news release reported over 500 million snaps sent and received on a daily basis. One of the most popular features of Snapchat is the Best Friend list, which is both hated and loved equally. Users enjoy this feature due to its easy availability of exchanging snaps with folks you often snap with, and it is equally hated because it shows the Best friends list on your profile — meaning anyone can see it.
The Snapchat Best Friends List Explained
Snapchat Best Friends, or your “top list” as they’re known informally, are 3 individuals you most frequently share snaps with. The list gets updated each week, meaning that if you snap people more frequently throughout the week, they’ll show up on your Best Friends list. You can see this list when you get ready to send a new snap, as it is shown on top of the contacts list to get easy access to it. It can be seen by anyone who has you in their contacts, and it is displayed on your profile publicly.
How to Bring Up Your Contacts’ Best Friends
To see the best friends of all your contacts, simply use the following method.
· Scroll down to the name or username of the friend you want to know about
· This brings up their profile, where you can see their username and friend score.
· There, you will see lists of those users your friend snaps with most often.
· You can move your number of best friends from 3 to 5 to 7 in the settings pane.
Keep in mind that the best friends algorithm works in such a way that if someone sends you snaps regularly, but you just reply a few times, that person could be on your best friends list simply because the score gets higher every time she sends snaps. Likewise, if you regularly send a snap to someone more often than other people do, they’ll end up on your list.
How to Remove Snapchat Best Friends
Learning how to remove Snapchat best friends is a fairly simple process, but you’ll need to fully understand how the feature works in order to use it correctly. First, Snapchat has a certain score for your best friends, with the score being the number of snaps in total that you’ve received and sent. This means the score you’ll see on your profile is the total activity number you’ve accumulated since starting to use the service. Secondly, the score is measured by the conversations you’ve had between all your friends, which determines who makes it onto your best friends list.
Then, based on Snapchat’s specific algorithm for friendship, it displays the number of snaps you’ve sent between you and all your best friends, displayed next to their names. In newer updates of Snapchat, you will see the scores in order from the top 3, 5, or 7 friends on the list. Since these friends get updated weekly, the score will reset to a 0 rating each week once the list gets updated.
Assuming you’d simply prefer to not have someone on your best friends list, you can simply control who shows up there. There are plenty of reasons you might want to do this. First, your best friends are public for anyone to see, which seems a bit odd. Why should anyone know who you’re talking with most often? Secondly, if your significant other is not the person you’re talking to most frequently, he’s going to notice that when ge goes to your profile. So some other guy you are talking to will show up on the list and your SO is going to ask some questions.
So, you can simply remove them. In order to do so, you will need to block your friends. This allows you to reset the score mentioned earlier.
A Simple Workaround to Take People Off Your List
You can’t completely hide the Snapchat Best Friends list. Instead, you’ll have to use a simple workaround to remove individuals from your best friends list. And this method also lets you replace people on your best friends list with other users, simply using a basic blocking and unblock method. Then, you can replace the people who you’ve blocked with new friends, which creates the illusion that you’re chatting with different people. Using this method, it will disguise whomever you’d rather not see on your best friends list, effectively “removing” them.
To block someone, follow these simple instructions.
1. First, go to your best friends list and click on the settings icon, which looks like a gear.
2. This brings up a popup window that gives you the choice to Block and/or Delete that person.
3. Click Block.
4. When you block an individual on Snapchat, your score will be reset to 0.
5. That person will now be removed from all your lists, including best friends and contacts.
This is the simplest method because you can just remove that person by blocking. They will not be notified of this block — and once you’ve done it, you can just unblock them and they will have a 0 score, so no one will have any idea how much you’ve talked to them.
Now, they’ll just appear on your contacts list, and not on your best friends list.
To unblock the person, scroll down to the lowest part of your contacts, where you can see your Blocked contacts within Snapchat. Next to each person’s name you’ll see a gear icon. Click that — and then when the next window shows up, click on Unblock.
And that’s it! Now the person you’ve taken off your best friends list is replaced by a new person — the individual who has the highest score on your normal contacts list.
Chat With Others to Improve Their Scores on Your Best Friends List
Chatting with other friends will help you increase the score with them, which makes it more likely that new folks will become your Best Friends. This means that if you talk less often with the person you want to remove, the others will outscore the person you don’t want to show up as high on your list. However, remember that the new best friend updates only kick in each week.
Source by Julie Peterson